20 Salama Players Forge their Way to Kenya National Youth Chess Championship

The Kiambu Regional Qualifiers for the 2024 Kenya National Youth Chess Championship (KNYCC) took place at Limuru Girls High School on March 23rd, when Salama players impressed the Kenyan chess community once again with 20 qualifiers to the national arena.

These 20 players earned their qualifications by scoring 2 points or above in the 6 rounds of the tournament. They proved themselves to be among the nation’s best youth players by working hard consistently over the chess board with CTC’s dedicated instructors WIM Ellen Wang and IM Evan Park. A massive congratulations to these qualifiers and an enormous thank you to the Salama faculty who supported and chaperoned the Salama team. Also, a very special thank you to Mrs. Mercy Kamoni, who meticulously prepared all the logistics for the team. 

Due to limited funding, 11 qualifiers with 2.5 points or above will have the chance to compete at KNYCC. Below is the list of the KNYCC participants:

1. Lehman Okoyo Kistia – Kianyaga High School (U18 Open, 4 points)

2. Brian Ayodi Chinda – Gachie High School (U16 Open, 4 points)

3. Vincely Kuria Mbitu – Salama Gachie Community School (U10 Open, 4 points)

4. Maxwell Lamayan Lekerumui – Salama Gachie Community School (U10 Open, 3.5 points)

5. Clement Onyango Aura – Kijara Secondary School (U18 Open, 3 points)

6. Christine Akai Akiru – Salama Gachie Community School (U16 Girls, 3 points)

7. Peter Lodiak James – Salama Gachie Community School (Under 10 Girls, 3 points)

8. Gloria Wakoli Mbolo – Kihara Secondary School (U18 Girls, 2.5 points)

9. Clinton Muhalia Karakacha – Kihara Secondary School (Under 18 Open, 2.5 points)

10. Trizah Auma Wesonga – Salama Gachie Community School (Under 14 Girls, 205 points)

11. Melkizededek Khatechi Luvuga – Upper Kihara Primary School (Under 14 Open, 2.5 points)